Up and Coming Artist Category 8

I recently stumbled upon an up and coming artist by the name of Jasmine Becket-Griffith aka Strangeling. You know of her? Choosing my favorite pieces of her work was both surprising and simple. Surprising because I rarely enjoy such a quantity of one’s art. Simple because I felt instantly connected to her characters. Her work is all female (I do not believe she has any male works), and consists of the impression fantastical realism – which I undoubtedly relate to.

Her work is of portrait, statue and dolls. Here will be the focus of portraits. Her style is fairy, gothic, cartoon-style with big eyes. If you’re anything like me, your first instinct is to roll your own eyes and walk away. With an open mind eager for flavor and perspective…I continued the search.

Needless to say by the end of this search Jasmine left me speechless and star-struck, or, ahem…in love with her view of the world. In addition, I have a small collection of her copyrighted works ready to review and share with you in categories.

(direct from her Ebay page at http://myworld.ebay.com/strangeling/?_trksid=p4340.l2559):

Category 8:

Non-Winged: Spirits

Image

“The Last Leaves”: (Okay, so this one has wings. However, it fell into the category of ghosts moreso than angels due to the vague transparency of her soul). An angelic forest apparition appears in gray hues with jeweled, sparkling wings against mist and fog with the sweetest of faces.

Image

“Wood Nymph”: Incredible detail in waves and foliage create a lustrous moonlit evening in the woodland nymph realm.

Image

“Ghost Of The Pumpkin Patch”: The essence of afterlife solemnity is captured by a young female spirit with cool demeanor yet pleading eyes in a hazy fall pumpkin patch.

Leave a comment